| nstructions

Kansas L obbyist Registration Form

How IsLobbying Defined Under KansasLaw? (K SA 46-225)

N

Promoting or opposing action or non-action on any legislative matter
Promoting or opposing the adoption or non-adoption of any rule or regulation
Providing entertainment, gifts, or paymentsin an aggregate value of $40 or morein any calendar year to a

state officer, elected official or employee

Who Must Register Asa
L obbyist? Prior tolobbying, you must
register as alobbyist in each year you fit
any one or more of the following
categories:

Basic Registration Rules For Kansas L obbyists
[KSA 46-265 outlines specific statutory requirements]

# Youareformally appointed asthe main
representative of an organization,
individual or other entity to lobby
regardless of whether you receive
compensation

# You are compensated for lobbying

# You spend atota of $1,000 or morein
any calendar year for lobbying activities

Who May Register

# If you don't fit any of the above
categories, but plan to engagein
activities to influence state policy and
simply wish to register, you may.

1 This statement must be completed and filed with the Secretary
of State prior to engaging in lobbying.

2. Registration fees are required with each separate registration
Statement.

3. Registrations expire automatically on December 31st of each
calendar year.

4. KSA 46-267 prohibits paying or accepting compensation for
lobbying which is contingent upon the resullt.

How often must you register ?

Each calendar year you will be representing a client, individual or
organization before Kansas officials.

Whenever a new |obbying employment or appointment is
accepted during a calendar year.

What if you have morethan one client?

I You must file a separate registration form and pay a separate fee
for each client or appointing, compensating, or employing
authority each year.

Penalties - Late Filing of Reports & Non-Registration

1 Therearecivil penaltiesfor late filing of lobbyist employment and expenditure reports (KSA 46-280)
Thefailureto file this statement as required by law is a class B misdemeanor (KSA 46-280)
Making any false material statement on thisform is aclass B misdemeanor (KSA 46-275)

Completed Registration forms must be filed in the office of the Secretary of State
120 SW. 10th, 1st Floor Memorial Hall, Topeka, KS 66612



